Governing Body Composition

The MarinTrust Governing Body  is a multi-stakeholder committee made up of marine ingredients producers, traders, fish feed producers, fish farmers, fish processors, retailers, marine conservation NGOs, related standards representatives, and the MarinTrust Technical Director. Information about the roles and responsibilities of the MarinTrust Governance Body Committee can be described here.

Meet our current Governing Body Committee members:

Aisla Jones

Aisla Jones is the Fish Sustainability Manager at Co-op UK where she oversees the responsible sourcing policy for wild caught and farmed seafood. After graduating with an MSc in Marine Biology from Bangor University, she worked there as a research assistant to identify priority research areas for aquaculture supply chains into the UK in collaboration with the seafood industry. Aisla also has varied experience working with several NGO’s in the UK and abroad. Prior to her current role she worked for WWF UK focusing on a number of seafood sustainability initiatives, particularly on tuna.

Daniel Lee

Daniel Lee PhD is a multilingual aquaculture specialist with expertise in the design, implementation and management of new projects. He has been GAA’s Best Aquaculture Practices standards coordinator since the program’s inception. He works closely with BAP Standards’ Oversight Committee and helps guide and coordinate its technical committees. Lee also manages aquaculture research projects for the Centre for Applied Marine Sciences at Bangor University in the United Kingdom, particularly on the environmental impacts of tropical aquaculture ,and developing systems with minimal impacts. He published the textbook Crustacean Farming, Ranching and Culture.

Dr Neil Auchterlonie

Neil Auchterlonie PhD, has a strong track record in managing aquaculture and fisheries science programmes in the public and private sector, specialising in commissioning, managing and reporting on science that addresses policy questions for government and industry. From 2015 to 2020, Neil was Technical Director of IFFO, and now runs his own consultancy. He has held positions on a number of scientific and technical committees and has a strong interest in technology transfer within the seafood industry.

Eduardo Goycoolea

Executive Director - New World Currents

Eduardo Goycoolea is currently Executive Director of New World Currents. For 25 years until his retirement in 2015, he was Sales & Marketing Director of El Golfo and later Blumar.  As President of the Fishmeal Exporters Organization (FEO) in 2001, he led the merger of FEO with IFFOMA to create IFFO, and was its co-President for the first year. Eduardo is currently IFFO vice-President and a member of the ASC Steering Committee. He has acted on a number of seafood industry Boards and been involved in the development of sustainability and responsible sourcing standards, including IFFO RS.

Ernesto Godelman

Executive Director and Founder of CeDePesca, Ernesto Godelman MSc is a former Technical Coordinator of the National Directorate of Fisheries in Argentina, former MSC representative for Latin America, and former SFP director for South and Central America. His current position helps to connect seafood supply chains interested in sustainable procurement, with fisheries improvement projects for industrial and small scale fisheries (FIPs). Ernesto is involved with 14 such projects around the world, and with improvements projects for marine ingredients fisheries such as Peruvian anchovy and Panama small pelagics.

Humberto Speziani

Humberto Speziani es Director de Tecnológica de Alimentos S.A. (TASA), el mayor productor de harina de pescado del mundo. También es Presidente de Negocios para Soluciones para Prevenir la Pobreza (SEP), Vicepresidente del Consejo Empresarial Peruano Japonés (CEPEJA - Perú) y Presidente del Comité de Pesca de la Asociación de Exportadores del Perú (ADEX). Ha trabajado en el sector pesquero durante casi 50 años. Humberto es ex presidente de IFFO (2010 - 2011), presidente de la Sociedad Nacional de Pesca del Perú (SNP) y presidente de la Confederación Nacional de Asociaciones de Empresas Privadas (CONFIEP) (2011-2013).

Libby Woodhatch

Libby Woodhatch MSc, has worked for more than 20 years in the seafood supply chain and on standards development. Prior to becoming Executive Chair of the MarinTrust, she was Head of Advocacy at Seafish, where her remit included the development of the Responsible Fishing Scheme (RFS) standard and a wider programme in seafood ethics. Libby was CEO of industry body Seafood Scotland for ten years, where she helped improve the value of return to the Scottish seafood industry. During this time, she also sat on the MSC’s Stakeholder Council. Libby is a Trustee of the Fishermen’s Mission, which provides welfare and support to fishermen and their families, and of the Billingsgate Seafood School.

Michael Lutz

Michael Lutz has more than 20 years’ experience in the fishmeal and fish oil trading industry, and is a Senior Manager at Köster Marine Proteins GmbH, Germany. He also acts as a consultant for ISIS GmbH (International Standard for Integrated Sustainability), for AWI (Alfred Wegener Institute for Polar and Marine Research), and IMARE (Institute for Marine Resources), and as an aquaculture and fisheries project consultant for the Institute for Animal Nutrition/ Free University of Berlin, and the University of Bremerhaven.